GSSOC’19 Dairies

GSSOC’19 Dairies

5 Jan 2019

Dear Diary,

Today I came to know about this open source program named Girlscript Summer of Code (GSSOC) not to be confused with the Google one. It is 3 months long and looks interesting. Maybe this will finally help me to contribute and start my journey with git and GitHub.

7 Jan 2019

Dear diary,

I looked at the all the projects and most of them seem above my current skill level. Some are really good and solve real life problems. Overall vast array of tech stacks are covered and one can surely find his/her preferred one. I am more interested in something related to python, and algorithms. I have shortlisted these ones.

1 March 2019

Dear Diary,

The coding period started today officially. All the participants are invited to the slack group. There are seperate channels for every project and every one is so friendly. I was not on slack before so still getting used to the interface. See? Already learning new things.

10 May 2019

Dear Diary,

It’s been about more than 2 months I was too busy with college exams and other stuff. Almost forgot about GSSOC. I already see many people contributing. Let’s hope it’s not too late to start. I feel bad for not taking it more seriously. By the way saw this message in participants channel.

Image for post

Image for post

18 May 2019

Dear diary,

Guess what? My first article just got published! I contacted the mentor of cosmos project and he guided me with all the steps involved. Who thought I will contribute to a project which was not in my initial shortlisted projects. The python task list has some easy topics which I think can explain better. My current score is 30. If I write two more articles I can get a score over 80 and some goodies from GSSOC.

19 May 2019

Dear Diary,

Wrote my second post at OpenGenus. These articles are helping me in clearing my own doubts. Technical writing is actually good. It forces us to put ourselves in the shoes of the readers and contemplate what problems they may face. My mentor is also liking them.

Image for post

Image for post

23 May 2019

Dear Diary,

My third article got published. I just came to know that OpenGenus provides internship and apparently I can join without taking the screening task due to my work with GSSOC. Truly grateful for this opportunity.

Image for post

Image for post

1 June 2019

Dear Diary,

GSSOC’19 has ended officially. I was hoping to contribute more but something else came up. Maybe next time. And who said that GitHub is the only way to contribute? Although no PRs were merged I still managed to use the information I know to make the world a better place. The words I wrote are out there waiting for someone to find them & understand that particular topic easily.

In the end I will like to thank -

I may not be in top five or even ten participants but something is better than nothing right? And I’m just getting started. 😄